Penalties for DUI in Tennessee

Request a Consultation

What are the penalties for DUI in Tennessee?

Tennessee has harsh DUI laws, so you need a good Nashville DUI lawyer to defend you.  First-time offenders must serve a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 48 hours, and other penalties may include fines ranging from $350 to $1,500, license suspension for up to one year, probation, and participation in an alcohol and drug treatment program.  Each time you are convicted of DUI, the punishment is harsher.

Offense Level Possible Penalties
1st offense
  • Jail Time: 48 hours minimum up to 11 months, 29 days (7 consecutive days for BAC ≥ 0.20)
  • Fines: $350-$1,500
  • License Revocation: 1 year (Restricted License available)
  • Other Penalties: Alcohol and drug treatment program (at judge’s discretion), Ignition Interlock Device
2nd offense
  • Jail Time: 45 days to 11 months, 29 days
  • Fines: $600-$3,500
  • License Revocation: 2 years (Restricted License available)
  • Other Penalties: Alcohol and drug treatment program, possible vehicle seizure/forfeiture, Ignition Interlock Device
3rd offense
  • Jail Time: 120 days to 11 months, 29 days
  • Fines: $1,100 to $10,000
  • License Revocation: 6 years (Restricted License available)
  • Other Penalties: Alcohol and drug treatment program, possible vehicle seizure/forfeiture, Ignition Interlock Device
4th and up
  • Jail Time: 1 year (365 days), minimum 150 consecutive days
  • Fines: $3,000 to $15,000
  • License Revocation: 8 years (Restricted License available)
  • Other Penalties: Alcohol and drug treatment program, vehicle seizure/forfeiture, Ignition Interlock Device

In addition to the penalties above, a DUI conviction can affect your life in many ways.  You will have a permanent criminal record, that cannot be expunged.  A criminal record can make it difficult to get a job, get housing, or get a loan.   You will also have to pay high rates for auto insurance.

Do I need a lawyer if I am charged with DUI?

Yes!  You should never face criminal charges alone.  Nashville DUI lawyer Carla Grebert will examine the evidence, ensure your constitutional rights are not violated, negotiate with the district attorney, and represent you in court.

If you are facing a DUI charge, don’t face it alone. Contact attorney Carla today to schedule a consultation.

Quick Guide to DUI Penalities in Tennessee

Davidson County DUI defense attorney Carla Grebert has prepared a handy, printable one-page guide to help you understand the penalties for DUI in Tennessee.  Click here to get it.

From the Blog

Should I Take a Plea?

Do I need a lawyer if the DA offers me a plea deal? Yes!  Your criminal defense attorney will help you understand the potential outcomes of your...

read more

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This